Your browser is not supported. Please update it.


Scottish Seniors Open, Newmachar Golf Club – 1997

The 1997 Scottish Seniors Open was held on the Hawkshill Championship Course at Newmachar Golf Club.

Of a very talented field – Tommy Horton was the winner by an incredible 9 strokes. Horton’s winning score was -12, which included an incredible final round score of 62.

Northern Open, Newmachar Golf Club – 2002

The Northern Open was held at Newmachar Golf Club in June 2002 on the Hawkshill Championship Course.

In the end, Fraser Mann was successful – pipping a highly talented field or professionals and amateurs. The video displayed below highlights some of the action.

PGA Europro Tour, Newmachar Golf Club – 2015

The Euro Pro Tour arrived at Newmachar for the first time in 2015 – with some top level professionals competing over our Hawkshill Championship Course.

Paul Howard of Lancaster was victorious – winning his first professional title at the age of 24.

This paved the way for future Professional events, as documented below

Paul Lawrie Foundation Under 15s Pro-Am 2016

PGA Europro Tour, Newmachar Golf Club – 2018

Following the success of the 2015 event, the Euro Pro Tour returned to Newmachar in 2018 with ‘The Newmachar Challenge’.

Englishman Billy Spooner, of Boston West Golf Club, was the champion – defeating fellow countryman Thomas Robson in a playoff.

PGA EuroPro Tour, Newmachar Golf Club – 2019

When 2019 came round, the hosting of Euro Pro Tour events at Newmachar was becoming a trend. This was the third Euro Pro Tour event at Newmachar GC and the second ‘Newmachar Challenge’.

This time round, it was turn of Jack McDonald to take the win on home turf. McDonald won outright with a score of -16.

Challenge Tour – The Farmfoods Scottish Challenge, Newmachar Golf Club – 2022

In 2022, local legend Paul Lawrie assisted with the re-introduction of the Farmfoods Scottish Challenge, an event on the Challenge Tour circuit which had been absent since 2018. Mr. Lawrie, who was affiliated to Newmachar GC when he won The 1999 Open Championship, has been a fantastic advocate for developing the game in Scotland and this was a further piece to the jigsaw – providing emerging professionals a pathway towards the DP World Tour.

Previous winners of this event, which was formerly held at Spey Valley GC in Aviemore, include Brooks Koepka, Andrew ‘Beef’ Johnston & David Law.

After a sudden-death play-off, Spaniard Javier Sainz was crowned the 2022 Champion. Be sure to watch the highlights below.

Following the success of this event, Newmachar GC are excited to have the event returning in August 2023….